Taxi Ride in New Delhi

Traffic in India what can I say; if you are a thrill seeker than perhaps being a passenger in delhitraffica taxi in India will do it. At one stage I thought I am never going to get to my hotel instead to a local hospital if I am lucky. None of the drivers give any attention to ambulance with blues and twos so just as well you are not a patient who require emergency medical treatment. At one stage three lanes became about 7 lanes with just an inch to spare between cars darting across the highway with hooters competing for each other’s attention.

All I can say is, they are either complete bonkers or very skilled drivers, probably bit of both. After about an hour of driving my taxi driver tells me he is not sure where the hotel is. I thought to myself, what you kidding me and you are a taxi driver in a busy city and you don’t even know where the hotel is (screaming in my head). He asked if I had the number for the hotel. I didn’t but I did have the number on my confirmation letter from my booking office. I phoned the office to get the local number which I then gave it to my taxi driver. He then phone the hotel for direction and only to be told that we had gone further away about 45 minutes’ drive from the hotel. This was too much to bear it but nothing you can do in the unfortunate circumstance you are caught up with and the best thing to do was just ride along with the event as it unfolds, so I did.

We searched for the road we should have been on and finally got on the right road after navigating through a busy side streets of Delhi mixed with cars, bikes, bicycles, people and cows everywhere. We started heading towards the direction of hotel and all the time praying that we don’t go off course again. By then my imagination was running wild in my head as it was getting darker outside and fear was gradually taking hold of me but I tried not to show it. I have heard so many stories where people have been kidnapped and robbed etc. so my fear was of course natural.

Eventually just over two hours leaving the Airport, journey which should have taken no less than 45 minutes, we got to my hotel in one piece. I had never been so pleased and relief to see the sight of my hotel.

Guess what I had a same journey back to the airport next day to make but I didn’t want to think about that yet…

About Tenzin YW

I am Tenzin from Devon in England but I am originally from Bhutan. It is a small country in the Himalayas. Land of Gross National Happiness. Tashi Delek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

