Our Fourth King the Jangchub Sempa

k4The vision that conjured up in my mind when I think of our fourth Druk Gyelpo Jigme Singye Wangchuck, refer to as the K4 (the Fourth King of Bhutan) by the Bhutanese is that of a supreme enlightened being the Jangchub Sempa. For me, he is the very embodiment of Guru Rinpoche with the heart of Chenrigzig the Avaloketeswara the true compassionate one with the profound wisdom of Jampelyang. I find inner peace so profound and sublime whenever I have a vision of His Majesty the fourth king in my mind and I find the utter joy of exaltation when I see his pictures, which I know is beyond comprehension to explain especially to western people. He has been a figure which represented many things as a child growing up and our lives have been molded around his vision and constantly reminded us of our importance in the society and the future of Bhutan. I see what he meant now and that vision has changed Bhutan in the world standings. Bhutan is widely recognised as the happiest nation in the world and we owe it to our beloved fourth king. Our gratitude and reverence for His Majesty shall never diminish.

His Majesty is the epitome of a true Bhutanese upholding Bhutanese values, cultures, dignity wherever he went and someone that I have always looked up to, how one should behave and represent Bhutanese values in all walks of life. His ideology and philosophy of Gross National Happiness is his legacy now as it is being studied and debated all over the world by scholars and numerous papers have been written and published. History will remember him for GNH and democracy in particular as this has made an impact worldwide along with many things he has achieved during his reign.

I work and live abroad but I am very proud to be a Bhutanese and my heart along with my spirit is never far from the hills and mountains of Bhutan, villages, and towns of Bhutan, rivers, and lakes, every nooks and crannies of Bhutan and shall remain forever that. I once made a comment to my western friends that you can take a Bhutanese out of Bhutan but you cannot take Bhutan out of a Bhutanese. Ask any Bhutanese living away from home and I am sure they will agree to this.

There are so many things that I am proud to talk about Bhutan and one that most people are amazed in the west are the narrative on king’s abdication and democracy, how the King had to work hard to convince its citizens to embrace change and welcome democracy. The people in the west are surprised why Bhutanese people would not welcome it as the democracy in the west has never been or have rarely been realised without bloodshed and taking years to come to fruition. Bhutan is truly a unique country in so many levels and we should all be very proud of our cultural and historical heritage.

Going back to the heading Our Fourth King the Jangchub Sempa which our beloved fourth king truly is that as he has even handed over his power to his son so that he can guide him with his wisdom which is so profound in itself and other nations around the world should take heed of this noble act instead of being dictatorial in holding onto the power. We will not see such farsighted wisdom from the monarch in our lifetime again and therefore in the eyes of every Bhutanese, Jangchub Sempa he truly is.

I would like to take the opportunity to wish our fourth King – Many many happy returns on your sixth birth anniversary and may you live long and healthy to guide us through the 21st century with your profound wisdom.

Tashi Delek!

Tenzin Yeshi Wangdi

About Tenzin YW

I am Tenzin from Devon in England but I am originally from Bhutan. It is a small country in the Himalayas. Land of Gross National Happiness. Tashi Delek!
This entry was posted in Education, Social and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

