Mindful Living

Learning about Mindful living is all interesting and yes how do one become mindful and be aware of what one does every day. There is no clear path on how one practices mindfulness as it really depends on an individual. Well at least that is my observation and how I understand the concept of mindfulness and awareness is.

So many things that we do every day as routine in our daily lives such as getting up, shower, get dress, work, school, university etc. I can honestly say most of these routine habits I don’t even think of them and happens unconsciously which is what the mindful living is suggesting that we should be aware of these practices/habits rather than being on an automatic pilot mode.

If I share how I try and practice mindful living briefly with you which might be totally wrong method of application but that is my method. I often reflect my days’ actions in the evening while I am travelling home from work and try to recollect all the positive and negative actions of the day and how I could better the positive actions and how I could remove the negative actions the each following day. Every day I try my best to be mindful of my actions and be aware of everything I do. What we say and how we behave affects others around us more than anything and therefore it is imperative we are mindful of our actions; body, speech and mind likewise.

One of the primary guiding paths I follow is the four immeasurable paths which is one of the teachings of Buddhism.  This helps me to align everything and every day activities I do. You don’t have to be a Buddhist to follow the teachings of Buddha, as human we are already born with Buddha nature. I try and follow these paths in my daily mindfulness living:

  1. Compassion: The intention and capacity to relieve the suffering of oneself and all other living beings.
  2. Loving Kindness: The intention and capacity to bring joy and happiness to oneself and all other living beings.
  3. Empathetic Joy: Rejoicing in the happiness and virtues of another living being
  4. Equanimity: Accepting loss or gain, praise or blame, success or failure with detachment. Regarding all living beings equally. Being clear-minded and tranquil

Hope these paths or conditions help you guys as much as it helps me with mindfulness living and self- compassion contributing to my overall well-being and the well-being of others around me.

About TYW

I am Tenzin from Devon in England but I am originally from Bhutan. It is a small country in the Himalayas. Famously known as the Land of Gross National Happiness. Tashi Delek!
This entry was posted in Social, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mindful Living

  1. caitbella says:

    Reblogged this on caitbella's Blog and commented:
    Insightful!

Leave a Reply

