Citius Altius Fortius

Olympic_Rings_motto

Citius, Altius, Fortius is the Olympic motto made up of three Latin words meaning Faster, Higher, Stronger. It expresses the aspirations of the Olympic Movement from a moral and educational perspective not just in its athletic and technical sense. This is such an inspirational and appropriate motto for the biggest game on earth and one that everyone will be watching all over the world.

As the world’s biggest game starts in Rio, Brazil from this Friday 5th August, the whole world will be glued to their TV to watch as many games as they can and that is exactly what I am hoping to do. As luck would have it I have applied for two weeks off in August which incidentally happen to be in the same week when the Olympic games are on and I can’t wait for the games to begin. Hopefully Rio can deliver as good a show as it was in London 2012 and all the other Olympic games before that.

I love watching almost all of the games but my favourites amongst them are archery, rowing, track and field events. I am hoping that I will be able to see our Bhutanese archers and hoping too, that they will have a good tournament. As they say it is not just about winning but it would be nice for the Bhutanese sportsmen and sportswomen to do well and win a medal of some colours. You never know though as anything can happen.

All I can say is have fun and enjoy the games as it only comes round every four years.

Citius Altius Fortius (Faster, Higher, Stronger).

About TYW

I am Tenzin from Devon in England but I am originally from Bhutan. It is a small country in the Himalayas. Famously known as the Land of Gross National Happiness. Tashi Delek!
This entry was posted in Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.