Bodhisattva Vow

First of all, what is a Bodhisattva and why we should take the vow. Bodhisattva is the one who always think of the welfare of others and willing to show the right path to lead us from all our sufferings.

This is Shantideva’s Bodhisattva Vow

May I be the doctor and the medicine
And may I be the nurse
For all sick beings in the world
Until everyone is healed
May all who say bad things to me
or cause me any other harm,
Those who insult me and mock me,
Have the fortune to fully awaken.

May I be the protector for those without one,
A guide for travellers on the way,
A path for them to walk on,
May I be a bridge, a boat, a ship
For all who wish to cross the water.

About TYW

I am Tenzin from Devon in England but I am originally from Bhutan. It is a small country in the Himalayas. Famously known as the Land of Gross National Happiness. Tashi Delek!
This entry was posted in Buddhism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.